Melbourne CBD

They say “Melbourne is to Sydney what NYC is to LA” and so far I’d say that’s spot on! Had breakfast in a fantastic little cafe called Degraves espresso (23 DegraveSt.), so cool to have decorated cappuccino’s again. Highly recommend their organic muesli, fruit and yogurt, oh and soy milk, NOT a problem unlike my life in Estoril:-) I also got to read a very interesting article on a magazine in Beirut called “the body”. Sex and the city of Beirut As you can imagine Joumana Haddad has received a diverse responce to her project, I think this personal journey into her own body can help so many on so many levels. To me this little excerpt speak volumes…………”People often ask me why I still live in Beirut, why I have lived here through the war and why I have never written about it. I say, Why do you look for the knife? Look for the scars. The scars are this women who is writing this stuff, doing these things. The war has given me a great deal of power. To survive in a city like Beirut, in this world, you have to keep on fighting.” I wonder is that the answer I would get from friends still living in some parts of my own Country, South Africa?

Degrave Street Espresso

Across the street is TOFWD *the organic food and wine deli. Another little gem to check out if you ever find yourself in the hood. http://www.tofwd.com.au. Interesting and unusual home made fare as well as chips and snacks.

TOFWD*the organic food and wine deli

2 thoughts on “Melbourne CBD

  1. Dear T, I have been reading the articles you have sent, enjoyed a lot, paticulary the interview from 1959, very interesting, still we haven’t learned yet how to be free. I wonder where is the answer and where do we get the power to change even a little bit, it will not be in my time for sure.
    Keep well and enjoy your visit to Australia, I will be waiting to read more, lots of love, deo

  2. Lovely to hear about your FABULOUS project and to hear about your life/inner life while in Australia. Happy New Year /decade! and may all the best be with you now and always… blessings, hugs.

Leave a Reply

