it takes courage to do less…………

I was inspired by Zen Habits post today………………..”I’d argue that by focusing on quality, you could work less and still have a higher impact……………….. I should note: this takes courage, to do less. You have to shed all the old ideas of working harder and working more and being more productive. You have to forget about what others think about your work habits, and instead think about the impact the work has on the world and your life. You have to change the way you do things, and that’s never easy.”

It’s that age old saying “focus on quality vs quantity”, “creating something great rather than just being busy”. Most of all for me it’s TRUST. Trust was the word I dedicated to 2009, its allowed me to find the flow to work with life in a way that I’m no longer bull dozing my way into making things happen. I got really good at that way of being but that approach always left me feeling empty and anxiously feeling “now what’s next?” It took me way way longer than I had anticipated to peal away the layers of my conditioning and start to discover and play with what truly mattered in my daily life. Allowing TRUST to filter through my life each day, trust in setting an intention that has meaning and purpose. Trust that what I do everyday allows me to keep on the path of walking my talk!  Trust that I am proud of me, my life and how I choose to live it each day! TRUST its a big powerful word that I’m deeply grateful for!

“Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.” – E.F. Schumacker

Here’s the link for anyone wanting to read the article in full: http://zenhabits.net/2009/09/8-ways-doing-less-can-transform-your-work-life/

Leave a Reply

